Sic Rick

Everyday this is the same scene. People crowd near a particular area to find a rick to their homes and the rickwalas give the same two letter answer, “NO”. It is really frustrating to wait for hours and this is what I did today. Instead of telling the exact place, I told him some place so that he agrees. This is the  conversation which happened after the rickwala realized where I am getting down:

R: You lied to me. You said you are getting down somewhere else

Me: Yes I did. If you guys are not ready to go to a particular place, we have to resort to lying and I am telling you the truth right now, so that you guys realize the struggle we have to go through

R: This is what we don’t like, when people lie!

Me: But you don’t mind rejecting people in the evening who are so tired after work. I know there is rule that rickwalas cannot reject any people asking them to take to a particular destination. We can meet a traffic police right now.

R (angrily and slightly threatning) : I know where you stay and I have dropped you twice before. (Then he described me the exact place where I stayed. I am still not sure why he said this!)

I was pretty shocked by the last statement he made. While paying him the money, I just told him, I don’t know why he dropped me when he knew my place and that I really hope they understand the plight of the people who wait for ricks. Also lastly, does anyone know any site where I can complain about such rickwalas who just know the two letters or who act as deaf?

Published in: on September 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shenoysneha.wordpress.com/2009/09/12/sic-rick/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. An auto driver can’t refuse to ferry passengers anywhere, whether he is on the auto-stand or not.

    Complaints can be lodged at the police station, Traffic department or the RTO office and strict action can be instigated.

    A fine of Rs 500 and suspension maybe imposed.

    To complain about errant rickshaw-drivers, send in the details on a postcard to the RTO, Andheri or call the Andheri RTO on 26362252 / 26319821. The following details are necessary:

    1. Vehicle number
    2. Type of vehicle (Auto-rickshaw or Taxi)
    3. Date of occurrence with time and place
    4. Nature of complaint
    5. Full name and address of complainant

  2. Buy a car 😀

  3. @Ceegee: Awesome 🙂
    @Gandalf: Why dont u buy a car for me??

  4. That’s too trivial. How about a private jet?

    • I hope the private “jet” doesn’t go on sick leave (bad joke I know :P)


Leave a Reply

