The evening breeze..

“Do you remember the time when you proposed me?” I inclined my head on his shoulders and closed my eyes. It was a pleasant and romantic evening. We were sitting near balcony and I could barely make out the outlines of mountains because of all the fog. The clouds covered the tip of the mountain as if they were kissing it. The day seemed to be smiling at me after being through long journey of sadness.

I knew he was being a silent listener and smiling at my question. He was so close to me that I could actually feel his breath blowing my hair. I giggled and said, “You were so nervous and scared that I would reject your proposal. You gave me all sorts of hints to make me realize how much you loved me.”

I suddenly jumped with joy and asked,” Do you remember our wedding day?” . I looked into his eyes,” My happiest moment was when the father said I now pronounce you man and wife. You may now kiss the bride”. And slowly tears started flowing from my eyes.

“Alice. Whom are you speaking to? There is no one here dear.” I suddenly turned to face her. That was my nurse, Eliza.

I realized that she had been hearing our conversation all the while. She looked at me, smiled with sympathy, touched my cheeks and said, “Alice its time for your medicines.”

I waited till she was gone. I walked to the railing of the balcony, looked at the medicines and just held my hand loose. I could see the medicines falling down. I knew he was dead. I knew he would never ever come back.

I really didn’t regret the state in which I was in. I didn’t want to shun the beautiful feeling of him being near me.

Published in: on December 2, 2007 at 7:58 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shenoysneha.wordpress.com/2007/12/02/the-evening-breeze/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hey…i love your blog!!!

    only one suggestion, can you send the full text in the rss feed? it’s very hard to click to your site and back to google reader when i’m reading on my cell, as i usually am 🙂

  2. its lovely!!

  3. Thats sad twist…

    for once I thought, its going to end happily (Yes, i am a Bollywood movie freak:D )

    anyways, superb narration…
    too good yaar. 🙂

  4. ya, as Sankalp said superb naration.
    Keep writing….

  5. hey!! Feels like i have never known u. Hows u .. Nd yeah beautiful posts 🙂 You have surprised me……… so much!!!

  6. Lovely!


Leave a Reply

