Few good words..

“Oh Baby! Don’t worry. I am there for you”

I skipped a beat, stopped walking, and thought,”Did I hear that properly?”

“Everything is going to be ok. I love you darling.”

I looked at him with surprise. “Oh hi Alice! My girlfriend Lucy is on phone. Will join you in five minutes”.I nodded and went inside the restaurant.

Life seems so unfair at times. Here I am battling for my life and I just want to hear some sweet words. I so want to narrate all the things happening to me. I so want some shoulder to cry upon. I had finally decided to tell him that I won’t be in this beautiful world after 3 months. I didn’t want to fight this alone. I looked at my friend outside talking to his girlfriend. I felt a tinge of sadness, motivated by secret pangs of jealousy.

“Hey hi Alice! Sorry for keeping you waiting. Actually Lucy is going through bad times. Her appraisal wasn’t so good and she is depressed because of that. I hope she is out of it soon. Really tensed for her.” The word ‘tensed’ suddenly made me change my mind. I didn’t want to bother him more.

“By the way, I heard you are resigning. I was pretty surprised to know that you are going to Houston. What happened Alice? I think you are in pretty good position in this company.”

I tried my best to hold back my tears and smiled,”Ya that’s right. But you see my priorities have changed.”

He joked, “Hey Houston has the best cancer hospital. Are you planning to do some social service there?” He laughed,”Just kidding! Hope you enjoy there Alice. I am sure you must have got a very good job else you wouldn’t have made such a sudden decision.”

His expression suddenly changed, “Hey that means you won’t be here for your birthday. So where are you planning to go on your birthday?”

I looked into his eyes and said, “Hopefully heaven!”

Published in: on October 28, 2007 at 11:04 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shenoysneha.wordpress.com/2007/10/28/few-good-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. gud work…:)keep writing

  2. Well written!! A majority (2 of 3)of ur articles speak of love that’s not turned back to you!! Love, sneha, is like water, it makes 80% percent of us and yet has no form or shape!! Let it flow!! Keep posting 🙂

  3. dat ws a good piece. keep writing. d:
    hope u find wot u r looking 4 ..

  4. Is Alice going to die? Boo hoo! :((

    😛


Leave a Reply

