That night…

“I am going to get married”. These words sounded like a thunder on silent roads of Norway at 1 a.m. I managed to smile and clearing my throat, I asked,”Who is she?”

“My colleague…We were dating for past 3 months and a week before she proposed me and..”

“And?”

“I realized she loved me the most and we would be happy together. I am getting married next week”

“Oh wow!! That sounds great.”

“I will drop my wedding card tomorrow at your residence. I hope you will come.”

We had a silent drive and I was silently thinking of the times spent with him. We were best and closest pals for almost 3 years.Today we met after a long time in a mall accidentally. We had been so busy in our lives that we couldn’t stay in touch for long. I was so happy to see him after such a long time and thought we would have so many things to talk about.

The car stopped suddenly and I could hear that soft and caring voice,”Here’s your house. Good night dear!! Take care. Hope to see you soon.”

“I don’t stay…” I paused, looked at him and smiled, “Good night! I will surely come.”

I got out of the car and saw his car driving down, slowly, disappearing from my eyes.I looked at my second floor apartment, thinking of all the times spent with him where we discussed about our new crushes, sipping hot coffee, fighting over silly things, the time he proposed me and I rejected thinking my career was more important than marriage.Slowly the lights in the apartment went off and I was jolted back to reality. I prayed that Mr. and Mrs. Smith would have a happy life together.

I slowly started walking down the road to my new apartment, holding back my tears, thinking that I will never receive his wedding card and maybe will never meet him again.

Published in: on October 7, 2007 at 11:47 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://shenoysneha.wordpress.com/2007/10/07/that-night/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful! Keep on writing 🙂

  2. I guess we need to talk!! It made me feel i don’t know the person i’ve known for so long!! Using the liberty to use the limited wisdom i have, i’d say very heartfelt!! Looking forward for your next post sweetie!!

  3. superbbb sweetie…wat a surprise yaa..i ws totally engrossed in tat smal story…n ws jst lost 4 a min ..jst lovely…gud work.keep writing!!!!!!!

  4. Very Nice……

    But seemed very hearfelt. Are oyu sure you are not writing from personal experience???

  5. Nice read. I didn’t know you wrote also.

    But I…didn’t get a couple of things?

    1. Why did the narrator not tell him that she was leaving this apartment?

    2. Anyways you can always collect your mail from your old apartment. The guys who used to live in my current apartment do this every week!

  6. Amazing script, truely said “words cannot explain everything”… you have done it here with simple small conversation in these few lines [ very little words] u have captured a lot … we actually feel the things which can not be explained … Great Work …

  7. Never knew this side of Tweety 🙂

  8. hoo..luvly!
    i jus lost myself 4 a minute.


Leave a Reply

